TRANQUILITY

Artwork: Self-portrait with my own book.

TRANQUILITY

Surreptitiously my heart has been stolen,
And it is lost to the wind from East,
Which brought the fragrance of jasmine,
As if it is the occasion of some feast.

Slowly, slowly, it blows from my sides,
Touching my skin and stealing my heat,
Giving me a shiver of cold like ice,
It blows like a mad elephant running on the street.

The pandemonium of birds have created such a view,
The formations of their flight compels me too,
To fly above clouds without leaving any clue,
To get lost among stars in the sky, dark or blue.

The inflorescence of sunflower,
Or the petals of roses,
In this enchanting hour,
Something proposes.

My restless heart has been eased,
See who has come to my door,
By seeing whom even nature is pleased,
See who has come to visit the poor.

Mad like a river, my emotions flow,
To heal my wounds, my lord has come.
To give me strength for I was feeling very low,
To show me way in dark, my light has come.

What a tranquility my soul has got,
As if a hungry kid has got enough food after years,
I am just mesmerized at this slot,
This joy has dissolved all my sorrows and fears.

I wipe my tears, I control my choking throat,
For my reason of delight has come.
I was lost in this world like in ocean, a boat,
I am happy that my season of delight has come.

The blossoming flowers and the bees around,
Are welcoming whom? Only you, only you!
Intoxicating thoughts of mine have come to an end,
The colourless life has got new tint and hue.

—Rahul K, An Unsung Anthology

Leave a comment